fbpx

REVIEW: The Legends Of Greemulax

Following in the tradition of J. K. Rowling and Roald Dahl, Kimmy Schmidt is an exciting new voice in middle-grade fantasy adventure. This debut will change the way boys and girls everywhere see the world — and each other! 

Penn dreads the day that he will start to become a monster, but it’s inevitable. The youngest of his tribe in Greemulax, he knows that as boys become men, they turn into powerful, hairy blue creatures called Grabagorns, and that their solemn vow is to never again be weak.

Legend has it that dragons all but destroyed Greemulax years ago during a terrible time known as the Great Scorch. Not one of the tight-knit community’s girls or women survived, and the men, ruled by Grabagorn Prime, have lived in mourning and anger ever since. But when one of Penn’s dragon traps catches a real live girl named Kristy, he starts to question everything he thought was true.

Together, Penn and Kristy set off on an adventure that will take them to a tugboat in a tree and through a treacherous lake of pudding, toward a candy forest guarded by dragons that might hold the answers they seek. The more time they spend with each other, however, the faster Penn transforms into the monster he fears, and the more Kristy seems to fade away into nothing. Can they reach their destination before it’s too late?

The Legends of Greemulax Synopsis
The Legends of Greemulax front cover

My Thoughts:

When I first came across this as a real object that exists in our world I was excited yet nervous. I am a huge fan of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and thus this sounded too good to be true. But also what if it was bad, as it had a lot of potential to be.

The good news is that it actually is a good book. The story is rather engaging and fun to read if a bit odd at times. The plot is unique and true to the description from the show, yet stands on its own. For those who have never seen the series, you are in luck. The Legends of Greemulax is a funny weird little book about toxic masculinity.

If you are like me and happen to be a big fan of Kimmy Schmidt then you are in for an extra treat. This book is bursting with Kimmy Schmidt goodness. From obvious homages to Jacqueline, Lillian and Titus, to Kimmy’s odd way of thinking.

This last point can be a bit annoying at times as Kimmy’s speech patterns and way of thinking can be difficult to read. Overall I think the intended middle-grade audience wouldn’t mind.

I give it 4 Stars

The Legends of Greemulax by Kimmy Schmidt and Sarah Mlynowski was released 2nd April 2019. You can get a copy at Amazon, Book Depository, Mighty Ape, Whitcoulls or wherever you like to get books.

Follow Sarah Mlynowski:

Follow Little Brown:

Brooklynne is an American born, Transgender Feminist who adores books. She currently resides in Wellington, New Zealand with her Boyfriend, Best Friend and Dog, only one of whom is not named Ryan. She enjoys all kinds of books and can often be found curled up in a corner with one glaring at said dog who refuses to cuddle.
Posts created 99

Leave a Reply

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: