fbpx

REVIEW: Heartstopper Volume 2

Heartstopper Volume 2 Book Cover
Heartstopper Volume 2 Heartstopper Alice Oseman Young Adult Graphic Novel Hodder Children’s Books 11 July 2019 Paperback 296

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

My Thoughts:

So it’s no secret that for the most part, I loved Heartstopper Volume 1, and for the most part, was just disappointed in the ending. Luckily Volume 2 picks pretty much right up after that and we don’t lose any time. I am o happy with everything that happens in this volume and UGH why isn’t volume 3 out yet.

In this we see Nick struggling with his attraction to Charlie but also being sweet and cute to charlie at the same time. I like that at no point is this graphic novel is Charlie put secondary to Nick’s struggles. It’s a “coming-out” trope that I am so fed up with and honestly needs to die in trash fire.

Charlie in response is calm and accepting of Nick’s slow coming out and understanding. Just everyone is so cream puff soft in this that I just love it. Also, there is a cool trans girl character who I hope we get to see more of.

I’m trying to write as coherent as I can when really all I want to do it run around screaming READ THIS PLEASE! Alice OSeman has sucked me into this sweet beautiful world.*

*Side note: I read Solitaire after these two and really struggled with Tori’s misanthropic voice and attitude after Charlie’s sweet and adorable world view.

I give Heartstopper Volume 2 5 out of 5 stars.

You can purchase your own copy at Mighty Ape, Whitcoulls, Booktopia, Unity Books, or wherever you like to purchase books.

*Note I have recently after much consideration decided that I can no longer in good faith link to Amazon or Book Depository. Please check out your local bookstore or shop locally.

Follow Alice Oseman:

Follow Hodder Children’s Books:

Brooklynne is an American born, Transgender Feminist who adores books. She currently resides in Wellington, New Zealand with her Boyfriend, Best Friend and Dog, only one of whom is not named Ryan. She enjoys all kinds of books and can often be found curled up in a corner with one glaring at said dog who refuses to cuddle.
Posts created 115

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Heartstopper Volume 2

Leave a Reply

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: